Saturday, February 4, 2017

2015-2016 "Work in Progress" Report for A-F Ratings

Texas schools will have a new ratings system starting August 2018. The law setting forth this new system requires a preliminary report issued before January 1, 2017. This "work in progress" report was released December 30, 2016.

The new rating system will have 5 domains and one overall score for each school. The preliminary report covers only 4 of the 5 domains and there is no overall score for each school. For each school, there are 4 scores in the "work in progress" report. The criteria for the 2018 official reports will be slightly different from the criteria used for this preliminary report.

The two guiding principles for the rating system are:
1) That it be mathematically possible for all schools to make an "A" grade.
2) That the scoring criteria remain constant year after year.

The 4 domains in the preliminary report are:
Domain 1 - Student achievement (based on STAAR test scores)
Domain 2 - Student progress (based on STAAR test from one year to the next)
Domain 3 - Closing the Gap (between economically disadvantaged students and others)
Domain 4 - Post-secondary readiness (related to attendance K-8, drop out rates 7-12, graduation rate, graduation plan, AP/IB participation)

The below list is only the grade for Domain 3 - Closing the Gap. Poor students often do not achieve at the same levels as non-poor students. This score looks at economically disadvantaged students relative to total enrollment and STAAR scores.

This is not a complete list of all schools in the DFW area, but a sampling. There is a link to the full list at the bottom.

Private schools are not rated, nor are private school students required to take STAAR tests. This is only for public and charter schools.

El = Elementary
Int - Intermediate
If a district has only a few poor students, the district is scored as a whole only (ie Carroll ISD). If there are no poor students, there is no score at all (ie Highland Park ISD).

Domain 3 - Closing the Gap

Grade A
Arlington Classics Academy Middle (charter)
Arlington Collegiate High (Arlington)
Barefoot Sanders Law magnet (Dallas)
Beverly El (Plano)
Brentfield El (Richardson)
Carroll ISD
Cedar Hill Collegiate High (Cedar Hill)
Colleyville Middle (Grapevine-Colleyville)
Coppell East Middle (Coppell)
Country Place El (Carrollton-Farmers Branch)
Curtis Middle (Allen)
Dealey Montessori (Dallas)
Ford Middle (Allen)
Hardeman El (Birdville)
Kerr El (Allen)
Lancaster El (Lancaster)
Liberty High (Frisco)
North Hills (charter)
Obadiah Knight El (Dallas)
Obama Leadership boys only (Dallas)
Porter El (Mesquite)
Powell El (Grand Prairie)
Rangel girls only (Dallas)
Rogers El (Dallas)
Rosemeade El (Carrollton-Farmers Branch)
Sanger El (Dallas)
School for the Highly Gifted (Grand Prairie)
Spencer El (Mansfield)
Tanglewood El (Fort Worth)
Waxahachie Global High (Waxahachie)
Willow Springs Middle (Lovejoy)

Grade B
Acton El (Duncanville)
Allen High (Allen)
Amos El (Arlington)
Anderson (Allen)
Arlington Classics Academy - Bowen (charter)
Ashworth El (Arlington)
Bedford Jr High (HEB)
Blanton El (Carrollton-Farmers Branch)
Bowie El (Richardson)
Brent El (Little Elm)
Bryan Adams High (Dallas)
Creekview High (Carrollton-Farmers Branch)
Downing Middle (Lewisville)
Ereckson Middle (Allen)
Fossil Ridge High (Keller)
Kramer (Dallas)
Lakewood El (Dallas)
Las Colinas El (Carrollton-Farmers Branch)
Lindsey El (Allen)
Lovejoy High (Lovejoy)
Lowery Freshman Center (Allen)
Murphy Middle (Plano)
Nichols Jr High (Arlington)
Peak El (Midlothian)
Pegasus (charter)
Pershing El (Dallas)
Plano West Sr High (Plano)
Preston Hollow El (Dallas)
Rosemont Middle (Dallas)
Rountree El (Allen)
Science & Engineering magnet (Dallas)
Scoggins Middle (Frisco)
Talented & Gifted magnet (Dallas)
The Colony High (Lewisville)
Timberline El (Grapevine-Colleyville)
Trinity High (HEB)
Vaughan El (Allen)

Grade C
A+ Academy (charter)
Anderson El (Arlington)
Anna High (Anna)
Arlington High (Arlington)
AW Brown Fellowship - Oak Cliff (charter)
Birdville High (Birdville)
Boles Jr High (Arlington)
Bowie High (Arlington)
Boyd High (McKinney)
Bryant El (Allen)
Bush Middle (Carrollton-Farmers Branch)
Celina Int (Celina)
Cockrell Hill El (Desoto)
Coppell North Middle (Coppell)
Flower Mound El (Lewisville)
Gunn Jr High (Arlington)
Hillcrest High (Dallas)
Horn High (Mesquite)
JJ Pearce High (Richardson)
Martin High (Arlington)
Mitchell El (Plano)
Mockingbird El (Coppell)
Navo Middle (Denton)
Ranchview High (Carrollton-Farmers Branch)
RL Turner High (Carrollton-Farmers Branch)
Rosemont El (Dallas)
Rowlett High (Garland)
Sachse High (Garland)
Sparks El (Frisco)
Stonewall Jackson El (Dallas)
Terrell High (Terrell)
Timberview Middle (Keller)
Woodrow Wilson (Dallas)
WT White (Dallas)
Wylie East (Wylie)

Grade D
Academy of Dallas (charter)
Adams El (Arlington)
Advantage Academy (charter)
Aldridge El (Plano)
Anna Middle (Anna)
Argyle Int (Argyle)
Aubrey High (Aubrey)
Azle High (Azle)
AW Brown Fellowship - Int - Oak Cliff (charter)
Berry El (Arlington)
Bluebonnet El (Keller)
Blue Ridge Middle (Blue Ridge)
Boals El (Frisco)
Bray El (Cedar Hill)
Carter High (Dallas)
Cary Middle (Dallas)
Conrad High (Dallas)
Coppell West Middle (Coppell)
Corbell El (Friso)
Corinth El (Lake Dallas)
Frankford Middle (Plano)
Garland High (Garland)
Grapevine El (Grapevine)
Hebron High (Lewisville)
Hilltop El (Argyle)
Knox El (Arlington)
Lake Highlands El (Richardson)
Lakeridge El (Cedar Hill)
Lakeridge High (Mansfield)
Miller El (Arlington)
Norton El (Allen)
Providence El (Denton)
Rogers Middle (Prosper)
Sam Houston High (Arlington)
Savannah El (Denton)
Shackelford Jr High (Arlington)
Shepton High (Plano)
Staley Middle (Frisco)
Valley Ranch El (Coppell)

Grade F
Argyle Middle (Argyle)
Carr El (Dallas)
Carver Creative Arts (Dallas)
Central El (Lewisville)
Denton Creek El (Coppell)
Focus Learning Academy (charter)
Freedom El (Keller)
Hamilton Park Pacesetter magnet (Richardson)
High Point El (Cedar Hill)
Justin El (Northwest)
Lakeview Middle (Lewisville)
Legacy Prep (charter)
Liberty Groves El (Garland)
McCall El (Plano)
McNeil El (McKinney)
Moss Haven El (Richardson)
Paloma Creek El (Denton)
Roquemore El (Arlington)
Seagoville High (Dallas)
Seagoville Middle (Dallas)
Sunnyvale El (Sunnyvale)
The Meadows (Desoto)
White Rock El (Richardson)
Wilson El (Coppell)
Wimbish El (Arlington)

To get to the full list in a pdf document, click this link to the TEA website:
Texas Education Agency - A-F page